

The Corporation of the Township of Adjala-Tosorontio

By-law 23-24

(Consolidated – as amended)

APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND BOARDS

A By-Law to make appointments to Advisory Committees, Local Boards and External Boards and Committees, and to repeal By-law 23-18

	Consolidation	
Amendment No. 1	By-law 23-75	August 9, 2023
Amendment No. 2	By-law 2024-006	January 10, 2024
Amendment No. 3	By-law 2024-016	February 14, 2024

Disclaimer:

The following consolidation is an electronic reproduction made available for information only. It is not an official version of the By-law. The format may be different, and plans, pictures, other graphics or text may be missing or altered. The Township of Adjala-Tosorontio does not warrant the accuracy of this electronic version.

This consolidation cannot be distributed or used for commercial purposes. It may be used for other purposes, only if you repeat this disclaimer. Official versions of all Bylaws can be obtained from the Township Clerk's Department 705-434-5055.

The Corporation of The Township of Adjala-Tosorontio

By-law No. 23-24

A By-law to make appointments to Advisory Committees, Local Boards and External Boards and Committees and to repeal By-law 23-18

Whereas Section 8 of the *Municipal Act*, S.O. 2001, c. M. 25, states that a municipality has the capacity, rights, powers and privileges of a natural person for the purpose of exercising its authority; and

Whereas Subsection 5(3) of the *Municipal Act, 2001,* requires that all municipal powers, including natural person powers, are exercised by by-law; and

Whereas the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Adjala-Tosorontio deems it advisable to make appointments to Advisory Committees, Local Boards and External Boards and Committees; and

Whereas making appointments to Committees and Local Boards is deemed to be a natural person power; and

Whereas Council makes appointments to various Committees and Boards every four (4) years to coincide with the Municipal Election, unless otherwise stated by Committee or Board terms;

Now Therefore the Council of The Corporation of The Township of Adjala-Tosorontio enacts as follows:

- 1. **That** appointments to Advisory Committees (statutory / non-statutory) shall be confirmed as listed in Schedule "A" attached hereto forming part of this by-law.
- 2. **That** appointments to Local and External Boards and Committees shall be confirmed as listed in Schedule "B" attached hereto forming part of this by-law.
- 3. **That**, from time to time, changes to Schedules "A" and "B" are necessary due to vacancies created for various reasons or newly created Committees or Boards, it shall be deemed acceptable for Council to do so by resolution. The resolution shall be in effect only until the new appointments by-law is brought forward at the usual time at which Council strikes and confirms its appointments, and at which time a new by-law is enacted.

- 4. **That** as Council's term ends on November 30th of a municipal election year, and notwithstanding the coinciding expiry date of appointments to various Boards and Committees, the said appointments shall remain in place until such time as the newly elected Council has determined the new and/or renewed appointments, and at such time as the newly appointed committees and Boards have met at which time they shall be deemed to be organized for carrying out their mandate.
- 5. **That** By-law 23-18 is hereby repealed, and this By-law supersedes any corresponding by-laws of the Township of Adjala-Tosorontio which, through inadvertence, may not have been repealed.
- 6. **That** the provisions of this By-law shall take full force and effect with the passing hereof.
- 7. **That** notwithstanding anything contrary to the rules of procedure, this By-law be introduced and read a first and second time and be considered read a third time and finally passed this 8th day of March 2023.

Scott W. Anderson, Mayor

Office Consolidation

Dianne Gould-Brown, Clerk

Schedule "A" to By-law 23-24

(as amended by By-law 24-016, February 14, 2024)

STATUTORY & NON-STATUTORY ADVISORY COMMITTEES

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Council Representatives	Deputy Mayor Julius Lachs
-	Councillor Bob Meadows
	Councillor Anub Simson

CEMETERY BOARD

Public Representatives	David Anderson
	Glenn Mason
	Karen Grehan

COMMITTEE OF ADJUSTMENT

Council Representatives	Councillor Adam Cox
(Appointed for the period of	Councillor Miklos Borsos
January 1, 2024 to	
December 31, 2024)	

Public Representatives	Elizabeth Rogacki
	John Greer
	Horace Harper

JOINT ACCESSIBILITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Council Representative	Councillor Ronald O'Leary
------------------------	---------------------------

Public Representative Doug Mein

PROPERTY STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Council Representatives	Councillor Adam Cox Councillor Anub Simson
Dublic Depresentatives	Devid Anderson

Public Representatives David Anderson Vacant Vacant

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AND EVENT COMMITTEE

Council Representatives

Deputy Mayor Julius Lachs

Public Representatives

Connor Murphy Janice Whiteside Marilyn Boyd Tamara Stewart

Schedule "B" to By-law 23-18 (as amended by By-law 24-016, February 14, 2024)

LOCAL AND EXTERNAL BOARDS AND COMMITTEES

LIVESTOCK EVALUATORS

Public Representative	Rachel Falls
	Trevor Irvin

LINE FENCE VIEWERS

Public Representative	John Greer
	Glenn Mason
	Karen Grehan

TORONTO AND REGION CONSERVATION AUTHORITY

Council Representative Councillor Anub Simson

Appointments alternate between the Township of Adjala-Tosorontio and the Town of Mono.

A Representative for 2022-2026 shall be appointed by the Township of Adjala-Tosorontio.

ROSEMONT DISTRICT FIRE BOARD

Council Representative	Deputy Mayor Julius Lachs
	Councillor Ronald O'Leary

MUSEUM ON THE BOYNE

NOTTAWASAGA VALLEY CONSERVATION AUTHORITY

Council Representative	Mayor Scott W. Anderson

ONTARIO PROVINCIAL POLICE NOTTAWASAGA DETACHMENT POLICE SERVICES BOARD

Council Representative	Mayor Scott W. Anderson
Public Representative	Deborah Hall-Chancey

SOUTH SIMCOE STREAMS NETWORK

Council Representative Councillor Bob Meadows

COUNTY OF SIMCOE – COUNTY COUNCIL ALTERNATE

Council Representative Councillor Bob Meadows